New Infrared Capability

29Jul08

I recently purchased a “no-name“ infrared filter for my Pentax *istDL digital SLR camera. It is an OEC IR 720 52mm . I have tested it out and it seems to work OK although I do have to play with it for a bit to optimize picture quality. I took a picture of a young sugar maple in our yard using my old fixed length Image Brand 28mm wide-angle lens (1/1500 sec, f 8.0, ISO 200,  Exp Comp 0.0).

 

Young Maple At Dragonfly Meadow -Normal Image

Young Maple At Dragonfly Meadow -Normal Image

 

 

 I then put on my new infrared filter and tried several manual settings. One of the best combinations was (1/20 sec, f 8.0, ISO 800, Exp Comp +2.0). This resulted in the following picture.

 

 

Young Maple At Dragonfly Meadow -IR 720 Fiter

Young Maple At Dragonfly Meadow -IR 720 Fiter

 

 

I then modified the image in my iDImager software to get the traditional white and black look that is used to display IR photos. I did this by setting the saturation to -5, using color correction (Red=0, Green=100, and Blue=100), and then as a final touch used AutoFix. This resulted in the following picture.

 

Young Maple At Dragonfly Meadow -B&W IR Image

Young Maple At Dragonfly Meadow -B&W IR Image

  

I will have to do more reading and experimentation to get more great IR photos – but at least I know I can. Hopefully I will get skilled enough with this technology that I can test new ways to adjust crops since crop health is related to their IR measurements.

No Responses Yet to “New Infrared Capability”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

