Macro Zoom

27May07

I recently purchased a Japanese made Soligor “Macro Zoom Telephoto 75 – 205” off of eBay for my Pentax *ist DL digital SLR. It is brighter and slightly more powerful than my current lens plus has a macro feature so I thought I would a bid on it – and I won. Even though it has a Pentax bayonet mount it wouldn’t fit onto my camera – it has an extra long flange that prohibits mounting – maybe that’s why I was able to win the bid. I surfed the web and found that some others have had the same problem with other lenses and solved the problem by carefully hack sawing off the extra flange piece and using black marker to cover the exposed metal. That is what I did and now the lens works fine. It is brighter than my other lens and is good as a telephoto but not as good in macro mode as there is a “fog” around the macro images. It is also built like a “Russian Tank” which means it is heavy to carry but hopefully means it will last.

No Responses Yet to “Macro Zoom”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

